Poetic Interlude

April 14, 2013 — 2 Comments

Sunday Ritual

I drink cardamom coffee
alone now
on this sunny Sunday morning

I drink cardamom coffee
from my biggest mug
and fill it with memories
from Sundays with you…

I drink cardamom coffee
and with each sip
another tear falls
and lets loose another memory
of rumpled sheets
my wild hair
your blue blue eyes
that little boy smile of yours
and your mouth tasting of sex
and cigarettes
and cardamom coffee…

I drink cardamom coffee
alone now
and close my eyes and linger there tasting the memory…

And just when I can no longer bear it, I take another sip of
cardamom coffee
Which I now only drink
alone.

April 2013

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Sunday’s Poetic Blossom Calls for Rain | Two Voices, One Song - April 14, 2013

    […] Poetic Interlude (inventingmariamccabe.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. Everything Is Romantic Monday | Edward Hotspur - April 15, 2013

    […] Inventing Maria McCabe – Poetic Interlude […]

    Like

Leave a comment